Viewing 30 reply threads
  • Author
      Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 2452
      • Overall: 2660

I grew up on a Winchester 1897 trenchgun, and I still have it. Gotta say, that and the Ithaca 37 are a really tough act to follow.
      In my opinion, the Remington 870 and the Mossberg 500 can’t touch them.

As far as a modern fighting pump shotgun, I suppose I would have to take the Mossberg. They just run faster than the Remington IMHO, and the slide release is located in a place you can access it without changing your grip.
      I have no experience with the Winchester.

What are your thoughts on this?

Artful
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 428
      • Overall: 615

I’ve got a 870 but I grew up with 870’s – I used Ithaca, Mossberg and Winchester – to me they are all about the same speed.
      Thing about the Remington 870 – you can get more aftermarket parts for it than any other model it seems to me.

Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★

There is that. Kinda like the 700. The gun that lends itself best to accessorizing the crap out of wins. Every time.

timspawn
      Participant
      • Silver
      • ★★
      • Comments: 137
      • Overall: 166

If you are counting auto loaders, I think the M family of Benelli’s is hard to beat.

Sgt. Mike
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 789
      • Overall: 873

Like Art I lean towards the 870 But Goodsteel already knows that.
      BTW I mounted that see-all sight on the 870 need to sight that thing in one day, so far I like that sight

I prefer it because of the Mechanics of the action bar with the dual Bars versus one action bar like many pumps.
      In the auto that Timspawn mentioned I have no experiance with the Bernelli’s but lean towards the 1100 series in the Remington

Artful
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 428
      • Overall: 615