Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Three44s
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 12
      • Overall: 13

I have a pre 64 Winchester model 70 standard long action with a custom sporter barrel.

I am looking for options to stock it. I am seeking a solution that does not cost a fortune.

Thanks in advance

Three 44s

Harter
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 807
      • Overall: 883

Boyd’s isn’t bad for cost and generally fit . If yours is the 3 screw it will most likely require some special fitting for that front screw .

skeettx
      Participant
      • Silver
      • ★★
      • Comments: 197
      • Overall: 213
      Three44s
      Participant
      • Bronze

Thanks for the fast response ……… on a holiday no less !

Yes, mine is the two piece bottom and three screw.

I really like the Boyds stocks but that ebay item currently at 31.XX is pretty reasonable.

I am a farmer/rancher so a good plain stock without much drop at the heel and something I can work on myself to upgrade to suit me is just about as good as it gets. We will see what happens!

Thanks again

Three 44s

Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 2452
      • Overall: 2660

Boydes is the easy solution.
      Or you could go with Richards microfit and some figure.
      Makes for an awesome winter project.

Three44s
      Participant
      • Bronze

Thanks Goodsteel!

I like those Richards stocks and I see Boyds do have dimensions for pre 64’s after all. Between the used stocks on ebay and these custom stocks, I have lots to chose from now ……… very good!

I was a little confused on an ebay listing ……. the seller of one of them refered to his stock as coming from a .264 Win and called it a magnum length and not standard ……… ?

Wouldn’t a .264 Win be a standard long action and not a magnum in a model 70 Win? Are not the magnums in a model 70 going to be 300 H&H and 375 H&H lengths?