This topic contains 9 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Doc Highwall 3 years, 4 months ago.

• Author
     Doc Highwall 
    Participant
    • Silver
    • ★★
    • Comments: 123
    • Overall: 131

I just started shooting iron sights again after not shooting competitive matches since 2002. That is the last time I shot a match every week both 100 yard prone and 3 and 4 position. I had gotten hurt at work and I ended up with neck/shoulder/back surgeries so shooting kind of took a back seat. The last several years I have been shooting cast bullets mostly off the bench.

Last year I started to shoot prone again but only used a scope, and only shot about 5 matches as I went to Alaska for 10 weeks. This year I have already shot 8 prone matches using a scope and my average kind of sucks at 397.50 out of a possible 400. I decided I wanted to start shooting iron sights again and shot them for the first time two weeks ago before the regular match started. I did not do too bad, but I did not do great either. I made changes to the way the rear sight attaches to the receiver of my Anschutz and I also lowered the front sight to get to be as close to the same height as my scope.

A couple of days ago I posted some pictures of my rifle and a target that I had shot using the newer Federal 711B that does not shoot as well as the old ammo that has the dimple in the base of the case. Today I shot some of the Norma Match ammo that I have been using in the 100 yard prone matches and it shoots a lot better. The first target I shot 20 shots and ended up shooting a 199-14X out of a possible 200.

I then took a 30 minute break and proceeded to shoot the remaining 30 shots into the 2nd target, and I ended up shooting a 297-16X out of a possible 300. I felt good shooting as well as I did. I then started to record all the settings and when I went to zero the elevation and windage knobs, I found that the rear sight was loose on the base.