Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      goody
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 74
      • Overall: 92

I am very new to these AR things and my question is: What is the exact way to load one of these guns assuming you dare not make a sound? This has to do with in the context of lets say deer hunting.

popper
      Participant
      • Silver
      • ★★
      • Comments: 293
      • Overall: 294

You could ride the charge handle down and use the FA to chamber the round. Most I know who use them just chamber a round and have the safety on, just like bird hunting. Now if on a guided hunt where they won’t allow that, you can get pretty quiet but not noiseless.

seaboltm
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 64
      • Overall: 72

Popper got it right. Loading an AR is not going to as quiet as a manually operated action.

Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 2452
      • Overall: 2660

What about this:
      Lock the bolt back. At the moment of truth, use the bolt release to slam one in and then fire. With practice, I’ll bet you could get to where you could get very fast. It’s just like doing a reload. Works with the M1A anyways.
      Might be worth trying?

goody
      Participant
      • Bronze

Thanks for the input. I will stop trying to load it totally quiet. I will leave it home when deer hunting as I have some bolt actions that fit the need.

Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★

goody;n6522 wrote: Thanks for the input. I will stop trying to load it totally quiet. I will leave it home when deer hunting as I have some bolt actions that fit the need.

You’re rifle, you’re business, and there’s certainly nothing wrong with hunting with a bolt action.

But I’m very curios about you’re strange question.

When I hunt with a bolt action, once I’m in place and settled, I chamber a round and put the rifle on safe. When I hunt with a semi-auto, I chamber a round and put the rifle on safe.