• Author
      Larry Gibson
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 507
      • Overall: 562
      • Gold

Kens, on the Woodland Safari Rifle thread asked me to start a thread on how I sling carry a rifle. I’m not saying this is the “best” way just saying carrying it this way I have no problems with longer barreled rifles in dense brush or forests. It’s become such a good way I now also sling carry my short barreled rifles the same way. I’m not a professional model and not a young lion anymore but you’ll get the idea. Doesn’t take much practice to get it down. Once so you’ll really appreciate how easy it is to “present the rifle” if a shot is to be taken without having to swing the rifle around and rotate the barrel up/down 90 degrees as in other carry methods. Hunting in rain/snow I have also appreciated how this method protects the scope and action. You will also appreciate the absolute control of the muzzle you have with this method.

Notice the right hand clasps the sling at its attachment to the forend.

This will be a series of posts.

This the general carry position. I use this method with leather strap slings, Safari leather slings and Whelen style military slings. However my preferred sling is the US Military web sling made for the M1 and M14 rifles. I do not favor nylon slings of any style as they are slippery and prone to slipping off the shoulder too easily. Note in this position the rifle is upside down on the strong/shooting side. The sling is adjusted so the scope and action are between the fore arm and the body which gives them protection. It also holds the rifle close with little to no effort so it doesn’t flop around. The muzzle is angled to the left about center of the body. This way as I move through and around dense brush the muzzle goes first and does not catch on anything. The rear stock angles to the rear and there isn’t anything for the brush to catch or snag onto.

Larry Gibson
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★