• Author
      Larry Gibson
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 507
      • Overall: 562
      • Gold

To make a long story short about 2 years ago I got tired of wishin’ n’ hopin’ about a rifle I would love to have. So I went through the gun safes and picked out 3 rifles I just wasn’t using anymore and sold them to fund my “dream” long range rifle. I already had a late model stainless CRF M70 Winchester (US Repeating Arms) to use as the action. It originally was a .308W that had been rebarreled by Jim Cloward (of Bellingham, WA) along the way.

I bit the bullet and got a Nightforce NXS 8×32 MOAR scope. I have been lusting over that scope for several years.  I prefer the reticle in the 2nd focal plane and the MOAR reticle is excellent and easy to use.   I also had a scope base built by Jim Cloward with a 10 moa cant built in. Additionally I had a set of 4 older Redfield 30MM rings that had some windage adjustment. Absolutely love the NXS scope and MOAR reticle.

Ordered a Broughton Palma contour barrel with a 12″ twist to be sent to Tim. That would take 6+ months to deliver.  I then ordered a McMillan adjustable A5 stock in Sonoran Camo inletted for the M70 action with the Palma contour barrel with pillars and flush mounted sling cups on the left side. I specified a 13″ minimum pull to a maximum of 14 ¾” pull. The stock has the clamp bar adjustable cheek piece with round knob. During the wait for the stock I happened to be in Scottsdale, Az and stopped by the McMillan factory. Very nice people and I got a complete tour. Marvelous operation and, while spendy, I learned why. The precision and craftsmanship that goes into the manufacture of their stocks is amazing.