This topic contains 20 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  GhostHawk 2 years, 10 months ago.

• Author
     reloader762 
    Participant
    • Bronze
    • Comments: 79
    • Overall: 94

I’ve been shooting the same old generic load in my M44 for several years,but it’s been a good one. Basically it’s the Lee 160 gr. TL GC RN bullet lubed lightly with my Alox/JPW lube once before and once after applying a gas check,it’s mostly a bore rider bullet with the back driving band and gas check ending up at whatever you size it to which in my case is .314″ an is as large a bullet as it will chamber the bore measures .312″ groove to groove. I’ve been pushing this bullet with the Ed Harris load of 16.0 grs. of Alliant 2400.

I recently just picked up and reworked a 1933 HEX receiver Tula 91/30 it has an excellent bore and I believe it will be a great shooter as well,the bore on it slugged between .312 & .313″ I still have to find out just how large a dia. bullet it can chamber possibly a .316″ but I’ll be trying some of my .314″ in it next weekend.

Anyway I’m open to any suggestions on heavier bullet weights that would work well with the Mosin’s twist rate as well as some slower burning powders that I can use with the longer barrel 91/30. Developing an accurate load is more important to me than MV but I would like to get into the 2K fps. +range eventually.

GhostHawk 
    Participant
    • Silver
    • ★★
    • Comments: 258
    • Overall: 260

I bought a pair, both 91/30’s one a 42 other a 43. Both slug .312 and I prefer the lee .312 185 gr gas check leemented or beagled out to .314 and a .314 sizer for crimping on gas checks. I run mine with both Red Dot and IMR 4895. Both do fairly well, but nothing to get excited about. My biggest problem is old eyes and I hate to bubba up a nice rifle trying to put a scope mount on it. I really am not a fan of the forward mounted scout type scopes.