Viewing 28 reply threads
  • Author
      bjornb
      • Silver
      • ★★
      • Comments: 163
      • Overall: 176

Tried to coat a few bullets tonight: Swirled them first in an empty Cool Whip container, dumped in a little Smoke4320 Zombie green, and baked the whole mess for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. The coating came out fairly even, but I think it looks thin. What say you pros? I’m a total newbie with this; did it once and seem to remember that the bullets got a thicker coat. They shot well at low speeds in a 44 Mag, so I wanted to try some of these for plinking in a 1911.

Thanks for all feedback.

Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 2452
      • Overall: 2660

Looks perfect to me. The guy who taught me to PC was shooting bullets that looked like they had leprosy. Lots of little places that were so thin you could almost see the lead. However, they shot just fine with no issues.

VANN
      Participant
      • Silver
      • ★★
      • Comments: 123
      • Overall: 134

They’re fine, if you get too carried away the coating will get uneven which is worse than not enough. Even if you see a little shine here an there, normally they are still fully coated, the pigment is just a little bit thin.

Kevin S
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 58
      • Overall: 72

They look just fine to me. Like Vann said even if you can see patches of lead the coating that keeps the bullet from leading is covering the clear spots.

bjornb
      • Silver
      • ★★

Thanks guys! I’ll load up a few and try them out!

IllinoisCoyoteHunter
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 74
      • Overall: 81

Nothing wrong with those!!! Choot ’em!

Artful
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 428
      • Overall: 615

I’m all for good looking but you need to sacrifice to the smash test – that’s the proof of construction!

bjornb
      • Silver
      • ★★