Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Rattlesnake Charlie
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 679
      • Overall: 831

I recently received info for SEAL 1 CLP. As most CLP products, they promise the moon and are a little pricey. What is your experience with any of them? BTW, I’m using Ed’s Red bore cleaner if that tells you anything.

WCM
      Participant
      • Silver
      • ★★
      • Comments: 368
      • Overall: 398

I use Break Free CLP on all moving parts of the AR15 .I don’t use it as a bore cleaner.
      I use Bore Tech Eliminator ,and follow it with Birchwood Casey Barricade for rust prevention.
      I have been using Barricade( previously called Sheath) for twenty five years. I live in an area of high humidity .
      I have never had a case of rust when used consistently..

seaboltm
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 64
      • Overall: 72

I use hoppes for borexample cleaning. Foam copper solvent. Mobile 1 and ballistol for lube.

JPHolla
      Participant
      • Silver
      • ★★
      • Comments: 120
      • Overall: 121

I’ve tried several wonder oils for guns and a while back was converting some military ’06 brass into 7×57 and noticed it took some force on the lever to accomplish. So I decided to experiment with several and came to the conclusion that Royal Purple motor oil was more lubricious than any of them. An engine is like a gun that fires several thousand rounds a minute for extended periods, so the oil must lubricate and clean carbon fouling for millions of “shots” hot or cold. It also needs to prevent rust when sitting idle. I like the price too.

LenH
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 32
      • Overall: 36

I use Ed’s Red, it has served me well. A Bullseye buddy gave me some of Roddy Toyota’s oil. I’ll post the contents after I get home from work. It is good stuff.
      I use it on my pistols to lubricate, a little goes a long way.

Roddy Toyota’s Gun oil Mixture