Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      CA Dude
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 11
      • Overall: 12

Back in what seems to be a former life, I was a Police Officer in a small city in south central Arkansas. I was the only Officer in the department that actually lived in the city so I did all my shopping there. One night my wife and I were at the grocery store and I saw an elderly African American gentleman in front of us caring a bucket of frozen chitlins. I turned to my wife and said “I wonder what chitlins taste like?” The wife answered very quickly that she didn’t know and that there was no way she would ever eat pig intestines!

I never gave this another thought.

Then while working the streets on a hot summer day, my dispatcher radioed, directing me to “See the Man” at 204 Oak St.

As I approached the old shotgun house I noticed a horrible smell coming from it. I thought to myself that they had sent me to another dead body. When I stepped onto the front poach I spoke through the screen door announcing myself. A deep, loud male voice boomed from the back of the house; “Come on in! I got something for you!” Unsure of what I was walking into I drew my pistol and opened the door. As I entered the house I saw an elderly woman at the rear of the house moving around in kitchen. This isn’t what I was thinking. I holstered my pistol. As I walked through the house toward the kitchen the smell got stronger and stronger.

When I stepped into the kitchen I saw the gentleman from the store sitting at the table eating a bowl of this gray colored stuff I did not recognize. As I looked around the kitchen I saw fried chicken, collard greens, corn beard and a sweet potato pie on the counter. Then I noticed a pot on the stove full of this unknown gray stuff and that god awful was coming from it.