Viewing 57 reply threads
  • Author
      upinthehills
      Participant
      • Bronze
      • Comments: 27
      • Overall: 28

I’m a beginner and I was afraid I’m polluting another thread here on casting for a .308 because I have such a variety of questions. So I’m hoping you folks will have the patience to deal with a wide variety of questions in this thread. I’m doing target shooting, my local range is just 100 yards, but I’m hoping to shoot longer distances this summer if I can get good enough. I just started shooting last year and it’s a hobby I took up to share with my 14 year old son. When I was young I drove motorcycles and race cars, this seems safer and I hope interesting enough to keep his attention.

We started with a .22lr Savage Model 19 NRA from 1940. It has peephole sights and to me it seems scary accurate, I had no idea how good plain iron sights could be. Never the less it’s a lot of work and we have a long way to go with it. We do silhouette egg shoots with this at the local club.

I was meaning to get a .22 I could put a scope on but somehow I landed up with a Savage Model 12FV from Cabela’s. This has an SWFA 12×42 scope I put on it. I choose that scope because it was cheap and has what was said to be very good adjustments. So far that seems to be true. Ten or twenty clicks on those knobs for a change in ammo and it’s right on the money.