Viewing 25 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive
      • Silver
      • ★★
      • Comments: 123
      • Overall: 129

I was recently made an offer I can’t refuse. I was told to pick out any gun that I want. The only gun I am interested in adding to my collection at the moment is an AR 15. So now I must decide which one I want.

Any advice on things to look for, features I will want, barrel types, optics, etc. would be appreciated. This will be just something to play with, hopefully not go to war with.

The budget is not unlimited but I don’t mind paying for quality if it is worth it.

Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 2452
      • Overall: 2660

Just speaking for myself, (I’m no expert on the subject of AR-15s)
      I would get a Sig Sauer flat top M400 Classic and drop an EOTech on there and a Vortex flash hider. Buddy of mine bought two of them and I’ve had a chance to play with them both (built one into a 300BLK for him).
      Sub MOA, well built. I like it better than any that I have tried as an out of the box shooter.

Artful
      Participant
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 428
      • Overall: 615
      Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★

Yes the Smith Vortex. I have one on my M1A and I think it’s the best flashhider on the market. It does what a flashhider is supposed to do.

I never saw the logic of putting a compensator on an AR-15. It’s already one of the lightest kicking rifles in history, and the inline stock naturally reduces muzzle rise.
      I shot an AR once that had a super bad to the bone muzzle break on it. The guy who owned it said he thinks he’s ALMOST got all the muzzle rise out of it. Hell I shot it and the muzzle jumped DOWN instead of up! I’m thinking the muzzle rise this pip squeak was dealing with was in his arm, not in the rifle. LOL!