This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Darren McCann 1 year, 6 months ago.

• Author
     Darren McCann 
    Participant
    • Bronze
    • Comments: 15
    • Overall: 19

Good afternoon,

This might get a bit long…….

I have been casting pistol boolits for a long time, 35+ years now. Last year I cast up more than 500 pounds of  lead for myself and the other Bullseye club members. It was mostly 32 wadcutters and H&G #68 45ACP boolits with a few 38  Semi and full wadcutters thrown in.

About, 5 years ago I started to shoot a few rifle boolits, was reading Larry Gibson, GoodSteel and several others posting on CB site, and their successful results. So I cast up boolits lubed and loaded them up. Results were so-so, one time really good, less than 2 inches at 100 yards, the next time 6-8 inch’s and terrible leading. Worked through all that and consistently getting 1 inch or less from a Savage rifle in 30-06 1-12 twist barrel. I could get into the 18-1900 FPS range with them,  as soon as I would push the boolits(LEE 170-FN, a RCBS 180-FN and a Lyman 311466) over 2000 FPS I would get a few good shots and accuracy would fall off. I was lubing with BAC and Lyman NRA. As I read more about GoodSteel building rifles and then the success of those that he built the rifles for, especially “Dawn” and Larry’s success with the NOE 30XCB…..I took the plunge and ordered a Mold from NOE. Keep in mind I live on the North side of the 49th, so not a low cost solution when shipping and exchange are added to the Mold.