Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author
      Goodsteel
      Keymaster
      • Gold
      • ★★★
      • Comments: 2452
      • Overall: 2660

Recording your load data and workup loads is an absolute requirement for reloading. In fact, one could even say the paperwork is more important than the loads themselves.
      When I load, I measure the rifle I am loading for to determine COAL.
      I research what I intend to do in several reloading references and choose a bullet, powder charge, and primer.
      Before I even pop the bag of brass open, I WRITE IT DOWN. Then I simply do exactly what was written.

I’ve been loading now for about 20 years. I remember my fathers words: Tim, write down what you are about to do every time. That way, when you blow yourself up I can read your book and tell your brother not to use that load. (Dad sure had a way of making a 15 year old pay the hell attention.)
      So there you go. It’s always been my habit to write first, then load later. Of course, I’m still trying to get in the habbit of writing it in the same place every time.
      To that end, I have chosen two nicely bound notebooks to write all my loads in. The original idea was to put cast bullet loads in one and all my shotgun/jacketed in the other, but that was too much to keep up with, so I’m content that at least it’s all in these two books.

However, my hand writing is atrocious, and I really wanted to have nicely written lines where I can fill in the information that I ALWAYS write down, regardless of the load or style of shooting it was built for.

My original idea was to get a bunch of notebooks printed that would have all the stuff to fill out layed out nicely on each page. Unfortunately, it was cost prohibitive. Maybe I just wasn’t looking at the right places, but I couldn’t find a book binding company that would make small quantities of these for me for $10 each or so. Consequently, that idea was a bust.